One Flu over the Cuckoo’s Nest

Cuckoo.  Cuckoo.  There’s nothing like being confined to a bed to battle through a flu to drive you up the walls with boredom, but I can now walk to the kitchen without getting knocked down by coughing.

Needless to say, cooking hasn’t been a priority.  My mother, who was also suffering, made a pot of soup that lasted about four meals, and my poor dad asked about whatever he could microwave for us.  I’m sure my husband is sitting back in Belfast, grateful not to have to take care of me for once!  I kid, I kid.  We’re both very good about taking care of each other.  I have said that the “legitimate marriage” portion of the visa application could boil down to one two-part question:

Has your spouse/partner had whooping cough at any point during your relationship?
If yes, did you leave them during their whooping cough?

Needless to say, CB and I are still kicking — in more ways than one!

The one thing I have managed to do was prepare dessert for the family dinner that never was.  We got up and cleaned the house (okay, half the house), which prompted itchiness and sneezing, and then I drove out in the pouring rain to borrow a cup of brown sugar from our friends who live about three times closer than the nearest store.  In Belfast, when I am missing an ingredient, I shove on my wellies and trod down to the Tesco.  All in, it’ll take about 20 minutes.  I was gone more than 20 minutes in the car this time.  Living in the sticks is hard, you know?

Once the neighbourly cup of sugar was obtained (which I imagine happened much like finding the Kokiri Sword) . . .

kokiri sword

You got the Kokiri Sword!

I set out to make pumpkin cupcakes.  Only, there wasn’t a muffin pan suited for the job.  What’s a girl to do?

deku shield

Now, ride into battle!

No, that’s not it.  You make do with what you have.  What I had was a really-mini loaf pan.  So I made pumpkin mini loaves.

For scale, that is a regular dinner plate.

For scale, that is a regular dinner plate.

I only changed the recipe because I couldn’t find nutmeg, so I added a little bit of extra cinnamon to keep it from tasting bland.  I also left them in the oven for 28 minutes.  After dinner, I iced them.

Messy, as per usual.

Messy, as per usual.

I know it’s a little bit of heresy in today’s cupcake-crazy world, but I think I like them better this way.  They did have more of a bread texture than cake, which I can’t really explain, but they were more satisfying and tasted less like I was eating dessert.

I have a few new projects I want to try, so now I just need to catch up on Real Life and do it.  Have you adapted any of your recipes into a new shape or style?  How did it work?

7 responses

  1. I have adapted a recipe. In the family version our our family’s version of Spanish Rice, the recipe calls for tomato juice. I thought it was too bland and had too much sodium, so I substituted it for low-sodium V-8 Spicy. It’s much better now. Even my family has started cooking theirs this way.

  2. Wow! I’ve never actually had the opportunity to borrow a cup of sugar from a neighbor. Even though that sounds annoying for you, it’s cool to know that still happens. 🙂

Leave a Reply

