Week One Check-in – Green Smoothie Challenge

Week One of the Green Smoothie Challenge is complete! Here’s where I am:

1) I have really enjoyed all the recipes so far. I already know some things that don’t agree with me, so I leave them out to ensure I complete the challenge. There’s no sense sticking a whole knob of fresh ginger in that blender if I know I won’t be able to choke it down. As good for your body as ginger is, I think the important thing is to actually drink the smoothies you make.

2) I didn’t actually ASK my husband, CB, to participate with me. I wasn’t sure that he would do it. When I told him I was going to do a month-long green smoothie challenge, he replied, “I might have to miss a couple when I’m traveling for conferences.”

3) CB has referred to several of the smoothies as “yummy” so far, which I take as a higher compliment than, “It tastes good.” He has also requested that I balance the protein and fats in them to have nothing but green smoothies for an entire week. It also pushes me to discover and create new recipes to keep it from getting boring for our minds and mouths. I’m thinking it’s time to try things like peanut butter and GF oats . . .

4) The difference in my energy levels is incredible. I don’t get winded as easily, and, even when I’ve been stuck at a computer screen for work, I have WANTED to get up and do something.

5) My digestion has improved already. I have long wanted to find a way to incorporate more greens into my diet, but, as I have mentioned, they can be very difficult to digest when you have intestinal disorders. With the smoothies, my body has the opportunity to get all the goodness these greens have to offer without having to work so hard to process them.

6) Having what we need from fruits and veggies has leeched over into the rest of our food patterns. CB asked if we could have quinoa salad much more often. It was our dinner last night, and I loaded it down with more vegetables than usual.

Quinoa salad with chicken and extra veggies

Quinoa salad with chicken and extra veggies

7) Some of my running pants don’t fit anymore. I’m talking about the ones that fit last week. Yeah, those.

A few of the week’s smoothies (some were finished too quickly for photography):

4 responses

  1. I just love your man’s response! Mine has been a champ, so far! 🙂 This morning Cade LOVED the tangy Day 4 one… but I didn’t put the ginger in theirs – I took their smoothies out before adding it to mine. I thought it was good with it – but they despise Ginger with a passion! I could totally drink these things morning noon and night! I can’t believe how much I’m loving it after 4 days in!!! I was skeptical – not of the benefit, but of my response. I have been a little bloated, but this is the most greens I’ve eaten maybe ever in my life, so I’m happy as can be and bet the bloating is me getting used to this…

    • Just remember: You know your body more than anyone else, and you also know what detox is. Your body probably hasn’t gotten those greens’ nutrients even when you have eaten them.

      To be completely honest, I am so shocked I like them so much!

  2. I’m glad CB is along for the ride with you, not that he had much of a choice, but at least he isn’t crossing his arms and pouting.

Leave a Reply

